Cheapest ways to upgrade a new bike?

arussiansniper
arussiansniper Posts: 36
edited March 2012 in MTB beginners
Alright guys.

You might of seen my other couple of posts and know i've just bought myself a new bike which i'm absolutely loving so far, although no serious riding has been done yet, just the couple of miles to and from work every day.

If you didn't see my other posts....i'm Jim, i'm new to the forum and i've recently starting taking more of an interest in Mountain Biking. I've been riding for about 10 years but i've reallyyyy got the bug over the last 6 months or so.

Basically, i'm not finding the seat too comfortable so that'll be the first thing to go although i have no idea what to get if anybody can recommend any?! Then over the next few months i'm also planning on getting new pedals (white Nukeproof flats), grips (Red Raceface Strafe Lock On's), a speedo (white Cateye Strada Wireless), a cage and bottle and some mudguards. Again if anybody can recommend some mudguards i'd appreciate it. My bike came with a quality hard rubber chainstay protector so i'm ok with that.

Just wondering if there are any other cheap/cheapish upgrades i can look at doing straight away to improve my ride? :)

Thanks

Jim
Cannondale SL1 2012

'As far back as I can remember, I've always wanted to be a gangster' - Henry Hill

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    I'd keep on with the saddle, they often bed in.

NukeProof pedals are not worth it, exactly the same rebranded can be found for cheaper.

Tyres are always the best place to upgrade.
  • Ah ok I'll stick with it for a while. Thanks for the advice.

Really? I've read some great reviews on the Nukeproofs (and they'd look class with my white frame, ha!)

My bike came with Schwalbe Rapid Rob's, much better tyre than I've ever had before anyway do I should be ok with these for abit shouldn't I?

Jim
    Cannondale SL1 2012