Ribble Stealth with 105 - is this groupset good enough?

CRAIGO5000
CRAIGO5000 Posts: 697
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
After much deliberation and personal mental torment I am about ready to press the buy button for a Ribble Stealth as I think the slightly more relaxed geometry and looks of the Ribble Stealth edge it for me over my other contended machine (Planet X RT-57 with SRAM Force) BUT I can only really stomach paying to have it built with a 105 groupset and Ultremo tyres which I plan to put on my lightish 1600gram Planet X AL30 wheels.

I am by no means a professional racer and am coming from a Sora/Tiagra equipped Allez which I still love and will demote to Winter/Turbo use. Will I regret not spending £300 more for SRAM force or Ultegra?

It's at this point of the build that I feel I have reached the point of diminishing returns over costs but bear in mind this will be my 'best bike' too.

Please tell me I'm correct to go with ful 105 and won't regret it!? :?
Ribble Stealth/SRAM Force
2007 Specialized Allez (Double) FCN - 3

Comments

• 105 is fine looking and functions really well. If you've the cash to upgrade and know that an "ordinary" groupset is going to bug you in years ahead then go for it.
  • rpd_steve
    rpd_steve Posts: 361
    As above, if knowing you 'only' have 105 will get to you and you have the cash, do it. But dont expect to get much better performance. It will be very slightly lighter, it will funtion exactly the same when in gear, the only differance being marginally better shifts under power.
  • jim453
    jim453 Posts: 1,360
    You almost certainly will not tell the difference between this and the tiagra you're used to.