Life changing career swap

mar_k
mar_k Posts: 323
edited April 2012 in The hub
Has anyone on here completely changed career paths with success?

Id be intrested to hear your story and how you made that change.

Im currently a HGV driver for an Event and Exhibition company.
I have known for some time that this is not the job I want to do. In november I applied to a Train Operating company to become a trainee Train driver.

To my suprise I was invited to an assessment centre to undergo some quite challenging tests,
I have passed the assessment stage's and today I have my final Managers interview.
I am completely bricking it.

For me this is a life changing situation as I wont have to work a stupid amount of hours to earn a sensible wage.
It will mean more time at home with the family.
The whole thing is scary for me as I have worked for my current employer for more than 10yrs and its all I know.

Anyone else been in a similar position?
How did you deal with any fears you had about the career change?

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    I've been through a few jobs in my time. I went from being an e-learning developer in a bank to full time karate instructor. Later from IT support to landscape gardener. Now I'm back in IT where I belong. Jobs aren't for life any more. As long as know your going to be able to pay the bills each month then go for it. This sounds like it could be a good change for you.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • mar_k
    I know what you mean, I have just got too comfortable in my current job.
    Even though I dislike it and feel over worked I find change really hard.
    I know for sure the change is for the better and if the interview goes well today there is no doubt that ill leave my current job. But even though I know what my decision would be I am still terrified.
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171