Distance / Time Question

BruunLoss
BruunLoss Posts: 103
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Hey guys, not sure how many people use Cycle Meter but for my blog, I want to accurately portray my distances and times so I have a question. As I ride for weight loss and not full on sport or racing, I post my distance covered with the time [in saddle cycling]. This is because I stop at points for either water intake, or using the bathroom or as I am also a photographer, stop for some photo opportunities that arise from new locations. So for example, a ride of 40 odd miles where in saddle riding was just under 3 hours, but actual time from home, out and back with stops was 5 hours. Is it still fair to say that I rode 40 miles in 3 hours which is actual riding time or best to say the 40 mile journey took 5 hours because of various stops?

I think the first one, it took me 3 hours to cycle 40 miles is the right one because you can't include stopping for breakfast or photos for example but I might be wrong!

Comments

• styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Yes, ride time is 3 hours. But would it have taken you 3 hours if you hadnt stopped for a break? Would you have tired quicker towards the end and slowed down further?
  • BruunLoss
    I'd say if I didn't take breaks, yes, I would have slowed down. I've only been cycling 6 weeks this week and weight about 290lbs, so I wouldn't have been able to cycle 3 hours straight, not with my high blood pressure anyway...
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    It's time on the bike. Time spent off the bike is just that, and you don't want to be bolting your dinner to make a good time.
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I don't suppose it really matters, but riding non-stop for 3 hours is very, very different to taking 5 hours to ride for only 3 hours. Can't you just include total time and time riding in your blog?
    More problems but still living....
  • t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643