importing to strava from mapmyrides

ianbar
ianbar Posts: 1,354
edited February 2014 in Road beginners
does anyone how how/if you can import your training off mapmyrides to strava? i am using a mac and can't seem to get my head round it!
enigma esprit
cannondale caad8 tiagra 2012

Comments

  • slowondefy2
    slowondefy2 Posts: 348
    edited March 2012
    I've not used mapmyride, but in principle what you need is to export the .gpx file for each ride from mapmyride, then upload that to Strava.

    edit: looks like mapmyride doesn't support exporting the time data, only the route info - which Strava can't import. My google-fu has failed to find a solution :( .
  • dabber
    dabber Posts: 1,926
    I presume (?) that the reason you want to do this is that you have a series of rides already stored in MapmyRide that you now wnat to upload onto Strava? If that is the case, I believe you have a problem as although you can export routes from MapmyRide in a variety of formats including gpx,which is compatible with Strava, the data will only include the route, not time based info. This, I believe, is down to MapmyRide and what they have chosen to support (I stand to be corrected on this).
    If, however, you are looking to log future rides with Strava I would presume you can upload the data from your GPS device (whatever it is) either directly to Strava or via a suitable application that works with your GPS device.
    eg. I have a Holux which I upload the info from the ride into Holux's own software, from which I then export a gpx file which then in turn I upload to Strava... actually dead simple and quick to do.
    “You may think that; I couldn’t possibly comment!”

    Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut
  • giarc
    giarc Posts: 54
    I wanted to do the same but found the mapmyride export file wouldn't work with Strava.
  • ianbar
    ianbar Posts: 1,354
    yeah i wanted to import from mapmyride training i had done before i got my garmin, nevermind, thank you
    enigma esprit
    cannondale caad8 tiagra 2012
  • velocanman
    velocanman Posts: 19
    Hey, all. I just started using Strava to track my bike rides and wanted to add my running as well. Since I don't have a GPS watch yet, I figured I could just make the maps in MapMyRun and export the times. As you know, that doesn't work with the GPX files!

    I might have found a workaround: Export the KML file from MapMyRun and convert it with GPS Utility (www.gpsu.co.uk).

    The times might not import but at least the track does. I could see the times in GPSU so it could be a simple setting to make it work.
    Watch Your Line: Techniques to Improve Road Cycling Skills (Second Edition)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Watch-Your-Line ... 1463517629
  • velocanman
    velocanman Posts: 19
    Actually, it looks like all that happened was GPS Utility filled all the time fields with the same time. Probably from the file save time. So time for each waypoint is not exported in KML by MapMyRide, either.
    Watch Your Line: Techniques to Improve Road Cycling Skills (Second Edition)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Watch-Your-Line ... 1463517629
  • I've imported .gpx files from cyclemeter to mapmyride without any problems. Can you export different formats from mapmyride that might work? Gpx, kml, tcx? Not much help I know........
    Cube Acid 2011 MTB
    Boardman Road Team....... yes i have had the BB re-greased :-)
  • deadhead1971
    deadhead1971 Posts: 338
    Here's a little tutorial that shows you how to do this:
    http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/2012/11/ho ... to-strava/
    Alan
    http://www.scarletfire.co.uk


    The Ultimate List of Strava Add On Sites!
    http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/strava-sites
  • Quick update on this, the tool for exporting from MMR has been offline for over a week now.
    Hope it comes back!
    Alan
    http://www.scarletfire.co.uk


    The Ultimate List of Strava Add On Sites!
    http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/strava-sites