Which gps gadget?

ShelleyB
ShelleyB Posts: 5
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all, I am not only new to this forum but I am also relatively new to road riding. As a rule I go out riding with my hubby who has an in built compass (lol) but I am At a point where I need to go out more often and thîs means going by myself. Should I purchase a gps with maps or without maps. Help I need to make a decision :?

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    edited February 2012
    Hi there, GPS with maps like a Garmin 800, are very expensive (£300 plus) and are probably unnecessary for a beginner. I have a Garmin 200 (approx £100) which is a GPS but not really a navigation tool. It gives you good downloadable stats and maps out where you have been - just a step up from a cheaper cycle computer, which can be anything from about £10 upwards. A cycle computer or basic GPS is definitely a good motivational tool.

I'm sure you could work out some routes in advance with a normal map, and if necessary take a map (or copy of a map page) out with you and stop and look at it if and when necessary to ensure you are on the correct route.
  • sirmol
    sirmol Posts: 287
    I have a forerunner 405 that i bought to run with. I have now got into riding and it has a bike mode. due to the watch being gps you can ask it to take you back to a destination you have visited. However it does not come with maps built in. I would recommend this tho if you get to a stage that u would like to record your rides and see how fast/far/calories you have done.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015