MEKK bikes - anyone got one?!

bompington
bompington Posts: 7,674
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Well, not a lot of replies then...
I'm bumping this as I've also been looking at one at my lbs, they're pushing them quite hard and were saying that the guys behind mekk were involved in Boardman bikes - I'm no expert on frame design but the poggio certainly looks similar to the Team Carbon in its top tube & bottom bracket; it's a 3k weave full carbon frame and the tiagra and 105 mix seems reasonable at the price. BR review seems reasonable too.
Anyone know anything useful about them?

Comments

• MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    Whilst I've no direct experience of them, my mate has just bought one, the Poggio 2.0 I seem to remember. He loves it; says it's light, comfortable, fast and flys up hills.

Can't offer any more info I'm afraid :lol:
    Science adjusts it’s beliefs based on what’s observed.
    Faith is the denial of observation so that Belief can be preserved
  • bompington
    Cheers Matt, any genuine user feedback at all is better than LBS sales patter, conjecture or internet opinions aka prejudice.

I am just a bit concerned that I've been hanging around here too long though, as I've never been remotely concerned about a bike's looks, but I found myself looking at the frame and thinking "looks good but the seat stays are a bit funny" and wondering which colour it would look best in ;-)
  • Squillinossett
    Squillinossett Posts: 1,678
    Lord, just googles it now - the Poggio 2.0 is a hell of a looker for the money!!!

IMG_1835.JPG

IMG_1837.JPG

BR liked the frame & forks, grouppo is fine, shove some better wheels on it and you would have a dam nice bike.

P.S, I had a boardman, and given money, I would be swayed with the Mekk, even if its just on the looks!
  • They are luverly looking bikes in the flesh. To be honest, I'd never heard of them, but popped into my lbs today and lo and behold, they've got a few on display.
  • luv2ride