C2C Tyre Buying Advice - Newbie Pls Help

Platinum Kitty
Platinum Kitty Posts: 4
edited February 2012 in MTB buying advice
Sorry if i ask what appears to be some silly questions as this is my first post and im fairly new to all of this :)

Basically i am looking to do the C2C from Penrith to Sunderland later in the year, i used to ride MTB a lot when i was younger but have just got back into it. i'm looking to swap out my XC tyres on a FS MTB(with lock outs) for some Road/Touring/Cross tyres for the next few months and for the Ride itself.

Ive narrowed it down to 5... i know - im rubbish at narrowing things down... :lol: I wanted to get opinions on them and see if anyone had any information or insight into any of them or any preferences...or any other suggestions?

Schwalbe - Marathon Cross MTB
Schwalbe - Marathon Plus SmartGuard City Tyre
Schwalbe - Land Cruiser MTB
Michelin - Country Rock
Specialized - Hemisphere Armadillo

85% of my riding at the moment leading upto this will be road based but i need to be able to ride some semi loose gravel sections and some compact gravel sections as most of the trails around where i live are a combination of the 2.

Does anyone have any thoughts on these tyres?
And should i be concerned with the weights? Some of these tyres seem pretty heavy?

Any input would be a massive help, and more than willing to post feedback on the tyres, training and route (when completed).

Cheers

Comments

• tarbot18
    tarbot18 Posts: 531
    Hi i did the c2c last year and used continental travel contact on my mtb hard tail as there are some off road sections on the route but it is smooth in the middle. Its a light tyre and has good puncture protection and has been used by a few round the world guys. Its pricey but well worth it.
    The family that rides together stays together !

Boardman Comp 29er 2013

Whyte T129s 2014 viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12965414&p=18823801&hilit=whyte+t129s#p18823801

Road Scott speedster s50 2011