OT: Barstward patronising car mechanics!

2»

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,365
    davis wrote:
    NGale wrote:
    In the case of belt drives, friction is your friend. You actually want a higher coefficient of friction in order to prevent slippage. So yes friction would be less on the teflon pulley, but you would want to use the granite pulley in order to the belt to 'stick'

Yup, so... back to my original question (sort of): Are the two pulleys made of the same stuff?

I'm no engineer, but I can't imagine there are that many different steels they'd use.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • rjsterry
    Veronese68 wrote:
    Plastic.

[googles] So they are. Would have thought plastic would have not been up to the job. I did say I was no engineer :oops:
    Pinnacle Monzonite

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Which engin was it?

I may beable to give the exact material spec.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,771
    rjsterry wrote:
    Veronese68 wrote:
    Plastic.

[googles] So they are. Would have thought plastic would have not been up to the job. I did say I was no engineer :oops:
    Lots of stuff is plastic now. Materials technology has moved on a huge amount. But working with parts for old cars as I do it's amazing how many people when offered a part in a better material say no and go for the original material even though the part will never be seen.
  • rjsterry
    Veronese68 wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:
    Veronese68 wrote:
    Plastic.