Pannier bag for commuter

HokkaHokka
HokkaHokka Posts: 46
edited February 2012 in Commuting general
Hello,

I am just about to order a "Revolution Courier Race '11" for commuting to and from work everyday (5 miles each way)
I'm very new to all this so please excuse any ignorance on my part.
I will need a pannier to carry my shoes, trousers and shirt, my lunch and locks, pump etc.

I currently like the look of this: (Avenir Deluxe Double Pannier)

http://www.rutlandcycling.com/12229/Ave ... n=pid12229

or if not, two of these: (Revolution Single Pannier)

http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/product ... nnier-bags

If anyone, has any feedback or advice I would be very grateful.

Thanks!

HH

Comments

• apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    Personally I would say two singles are better than a double - because I only run one side 95% of the time and a double is cumbersome - the single is so easy to carry.

I would make sure to get something waterproof if using for commuting - non waterproof panniers just dont make any sense to me. I have the Altura Dryline and they have been good, but are a little more pricey.
  • Redmog
    Redmog Posts: 50
    + 1 for waterproof, mine have a rain cover in a zipped pocket at the top - there when I need it and no faff otherwise.

Do you need to lug all that stuff with you? I keep a suit, shoes, towel & lock here and the pannier holds only a shirt,
    sarnies and waterproof which means I don't have creases in my suit!
  • Mr Plum
    Mr Plum Posts: 1,097
    Waterproof can be more expensive so I've found that putting all your clothes etc into a 'Bag For Life' style plastic bag is very effective and has always kept my stuff dry.

Just echoing the above - do you really need 2 panniers? My lock always stays locked to the bike stand, towel/shoes/trousers stay in the office...
    FCN 2 to 8
  • Hmmm, some very interesting points, thanks for the feedback.
    I think both of the options that I mentioned are "weatherproof"