Looking for decent bike sub £200 if possible

HokkaHokka
HokkaHokka Posts: 46
edited February 2012 in Commuting general
Hello,

I know my budget will be a bit of a sticking point but does anyone have any recommendations?

I will start a new job shortly and my communte will be a round trip of 10 miles per day.

The route is tarmac all the way with some slopes and a stretch which is very open and exposed to wind/rain etc.

I'm a beginner and am not keen on racer style bikes and prefer sitting in an upright position.

I don't know if it's relevant but I live near Chelmsford in Essex.

Thanks!

HH

Comments

• you are going to get a much better bike buying secondhand at this price. A decent, robust new bike is going to be at least £300, something like the Ridgeback Comet. 24 speed, double wall rims, conti tyres and an adjustable stem if you want to get really upright.
  • Thanks for the quick reply and useful advice.
    I don't mind going down the second hand route...
    I don't need to be too upright, as long as I'm not leaning forward too much (as you would on a racer)
    I am very open to suggestions/recommendations at the moment...
    One other thing that I neglected to mention is, that I'm looking for a bike that is not too taxing physically - particularly on the slopes. I don't want to arrive at the office in too much of an unkept state!
  • Thats not a lot for a passable bike, you may have to be a bit flexible. Second hand is a good call but if you want a guarantee & possibly a follow up service thrown in, you'll have to go new. If you've got a Decathlon nearby go and have a look there, the overall quality & feel surpasses the price. Halfords do entry level stuff at that price but their service dept doesn't have a good reputation or high recruitment standards.

In general you should avoid supermarkets & high street shops (argos & sports direct etc)