Advice on a new bike after theft...

JulesRules
JulesRules Posts: 8
edited February 2012 in Women
Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum but hope you may all be able to help...

Similar to Barbs thread ref HT or FS... but I am in the same dilemma after my stumpy hardtail was stolen last week and ventured onto this forum to see if anybody had advise on:

HT v Full Sus?
Women specific or not?

It seems that the advice I have been given all over is pretty much the same thing...try some different bikes and see what works for me. Anyone who has advise on what they ride and where to start would be useful? In terms of budget I'm just waiting to see what the insurance are going to pay out but OH reckons I should get in the region of £1, 500 give or take. Also, creating a shortlist to try would be useful as the longer I take trying stuff out the longer I am sans bike :cry:

I'm a bit of a weekend/leisure rider to be honest. I get dragged to trail centres all over the shop by my other half during weekends away in our caravan normally starting the summer feeling riding unfit and lacking confidence on the blues and moving up to reds and single track as the summer progresses. I'm thinking maybe if I had a bike that fit me better and I felt more comfortable with (I liked my Stumpy but OH says I was in blissful ignorance) I might ride more and even do a course to improve my technical skills as at present I basically don't have any. :oops:

I am 5' 5.5" (the extra half inch is very important!) and a curvy size 16 (heading downwards at present but you never know when it will go back the other way). I'm not sure about my body proportions i.e. whether my legs/ torso are long or short (my inside leg is about29 - 30 inches if that help) but my wide hips give me a low centre of gravity compared to a man.

Any advise or recommendations much appreciated. :?

Jules

Comments

• I'm sorry to hear your bike was stolen, Jules, although maybe you'll end up with something more suitable (for you).