try before you buy ???

2»

Comments

• Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    Briggo wrote:
    I 'tried' the Whyte before I bought it, but to be honest riding around on it for 5 mins up and down the road isn't a test.

I didn't try the Stumpy before I bought it and if anything it fits slightly better than the Whyte does as I studied the geometry more on that one.

I do always find it funny on here how when someone says "which bike should I get" everyone replies with "try them" when knowing full well you can't or if you can its a piddly little test around the car park which gives no indication, and then so far with this survey it shows less people tried before they buy.

or you go toa test day because you have some common sense.

There are loads of test days arranged around thr country where you can get your hands on a fair few bikes to actually ride around a trail :) as i said tested my bikes on the July trail at afan :)

Because everyone lives within a reasonable distance of where they're held or has the time to go on a particular day.

For example - http://www.whytebikes.com/2010/demodays/events.php

Blimey, look at all those dates theres so many and they're all over the country, out of 365 days of the year 15 days are covered.

Hell, why not go to Germany to try them out.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    First few bikes I had were bought by the folks when I was just a lad so no trying before they bought. Not really a problem though they were just used on the road.

Bought piece of unmentionable a decade or two ago based on clueless not knowing about bikes, never tried it. Was cheap, was crap. Still when I finally took it off road I got the bug.

It fell apart of course so got the GT. Just from reviews and spec, didn't try it other than at the shop. Worked out a great bike. Really liked that.