Boardman Hybrid or Cr@ppy road bike

polska1979
polska1979 Posts: 152
edited February 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all

I've been commuting for the last 12 months on my Boardman Hybrid Team. Whilst its a great bike for the commute ive had to fit it with schwalbe marathons for the puncture resistance. So its been slowed down somewhat

so, recently I've started a new job working from home so no need to commute. I've been dying to get into Road riding properly for a while but can afford the outlay of another bike just yet.

I have the use of a friends CArrera Valour, which is ok, nothing special. Recently went out on a ride with a couple of roadies and struggled on the valour. not through fitness levels...It just seems so heavy and isnt very reliable, bad brakes, dodgy gears. They have said I can tag along every week now which is great

So I have a dilemma, do I continue on the valour and chuck a couple of hundred quid at it to upgrade the parts. or Spend the same and make my Boardman as close to a road bike as possible. Thinner low resistance tyres, etc.

Selling them both and buying a road bike isnt an option as a) valour isnt mine and b) I will probably use the boardman for rides with the family

Remember the boardman is an £800 quid bike, carbon forks, sram brakes and chainset. VAlour is made of scaffolding poles

I'm not too far off the guys on the flats, just fall behind on the hills a little.

What do you think would be the best plan of attack until I can afford a decent road bike

Comments

• apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    Is it the uphill or the downhill where you fall behind? I am guessing the uphill because of the weight of the carrera.