Opinions please - cracked carbon frame

trail jacker
trail jacker Posts: 844
edited February 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

About 5 months ago I bought a carbon 456 frame from a seller on here, it was barely use and in great nick.
The other day I noticed a crack has developed, stemming from the slit in the seat-tube.

imag0559i.jpg
imag0560k.jpg
I know the diagnosis isn't good, and I emailed On-One yesterday for advice but they are being frustratingly slow to respond.

As a student I cant afford a new frame, and I was wondering what the best thing to do to prolong the life of the frame would be.

Any advice appreciated!

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Looks suspiciously like an overtightened seatpost. Not great.
  • Is there anything I can do to prolong the frames life?
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    and that is why you should not have all the splits lined up. looks like you have had the insert/the frame and the clamp lined up.

bad move.

use till it fails as it will.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • is it worth filling in the crack with nail polish to seal it up? And would it help is I run the clamp the other way round?
  • nicklouse
    is it worth filling in the crack with nail polish to seal it up?
    makes no difference really.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • Well is it worth repairing it? I know you can buy carbon repair kits for around £30 but would it be worth it?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Nail polish is a really bad idea, you don't want acetone wicking into the carbon, epoxy resin (the same stuff that is there already) may help though......

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Anonymous