Garmin edge 200 or 500

The Man Chump
The Man Chump Posts: 81
edited February 2012 in Road beginners
What are your thoughts peeps
200 or 500.

I'm not too fussed with the heart rate monitor (Don't get on with the strap)

?

Comments

• richa
    richa Posts: 1,632
    Compared:
    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare.do? ... duct=90675

Main difference is HR / Cadence & Power. If you don't need these then go for it - the saving is approx £24 at Handtec.
    Rich
  • What about the cadence sensor, or are you ever likely to get a power sensor?

I have the 500 (only had it a week or so), I find the extra data from the cadence and heart rate sensors adds another angle to the data. I'm really impressed with the thing so far.

Andy
  • Sorry i'm new to these thenigs. Cadence means?
  • pedal revs
  • godders1
    godders1 Posts: 750
    For a beginner I think the 200 is fine. If you think you're going to start taking things more seriously in the future and/or if you're the sort of person who likes to obsess over stats anyway then maybe bite the bullet and go for the 500 now.

The 200 is just fine for me personally.
  • How does the cycle computer know your rpm? clever little beast! I'm saving up for one should be there in a couple of weeks. Mmm
  • richk
    richk Posts: 564
    I went through the same thought process a couple of months ago. In the end, I decided a) I didnt need the extra functionality of the 500 and b) if I did go for a 500 it would be way more expensive because of the extra sensors needed as I'd want them on all 4 bikes. It would drive me nuts not getting everything all the time. I havent regretted that decision. Others will be different though.
    There is no secret ingredient...
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    You have a magnet on the crank and a sensor usually on the chainstay. Thus the magnet passes the sensor once per revolution. Hence cadence.
  • What are you looking for in terms of data / info? Do you really need a GPS based unit?