which brakes to keep, avids or formulas?

mfereborn
mfereborn Posts: 480
edited February 2012 in MTB buying advice
I have a dilemma!

I have bought a bike with Formula RX's in white which although the colour is naff appear to be brilliant in reviews, problem is i also have a brand new set of black Avid Elixir CR's.

I really dont have a clue which brake is the better but i d prefer the black of the avids!

Which would you guys advise keeping on a do it all lapierre?
The Frog: Lapierre Zesty 214 2010 - Upgraded - W.I.P

Comments

• ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    Formula, every time.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • can i ask why over the avids? i need opinions and even better - facts?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try the Avids, see what you prefer!
  • one problem with that matey is the avids are brand new and so if i use them they lose their value - i could make a fair bit more selling them new im afraid (silly i know but as a student i need every penny!)
  • supersonic
    I haven't tried either, but my colleagues have - I think are reviewed on here?

Elixir 5 uses a lot of the same tech, and work very well, smooth progressive lever feel.
  • ilovedirt
    I haven't used the elixir for a while, or extensively, however I had juicy 5's and 3's for a long time and now have some formula megas. The formulas seem to be of much higher quality in the way they're made and offer great power and modulation, much more so than my avids ever did.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • supersonic
    Juicy's are fecking crap though haha! Elixirs are a world away.
  • lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868