Frozen "wotsits"

warrerj
warrerj Posts: 665
edited February 2012 in Road beginners
I'm new to this skinny tyre thing (been mountain biking for years). In the winter on my MTB I normally wear thermal tights with waterproof 3/4 baggies over the top. They keep me toastie warm no problem. As I'm "not allowed" :wink: to wear baggies on a road bike what do you keep things toastie?

I went out on Sunday afternoon and the avg. temp. was 1 deg. My upperbody & heat were fine, my hands and feet were a little chilly but not too bad and not what I'd call cold. My legs and more impartantly my "wotsits" were freezing! :cry:

HELP please!

Comments

• StorckSpeed
    StorckSpeed Posts: 291
    edited January 2012
    When the temp drops to around zero, you have to watch all you extremeties including your old man..... :-)
    To quote an old camping term "If you've got cold feet wear a hat". Do this and you're hands and feet will probably be toasty too, provided your wearing windproof gloves, good socks and overshoes.
    I like this hat, it's not windproof but is nice and warm and breathes well so the top of your head doesn't get all sweaty. It's also fairly cheap.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=18464
    As for the old man - I wear roubaix leggings with a pad, even then it can still get a bit chilly so I've found the best way is to buy your mid/thermal layer long, (preferrably without an elastic hem). Put on your base layer then the mid layer and the leggings over these. Pull the front of the thermal layer down to cover your privates and the jobs a good-un.......
    I was out the other day in -3deg and was thankfully frost bite free.

Hope this helps.
    There's warp speed - then there's Storck Speed
  • nickel
    nickel Posts: 476
    Are you wearing roubaix tights?
  • Duffer65
    Duffer65 Posts: 341