New bike, Boardman or anything better available £500 - 700

porlyworly
porlyworly Posts: 441
edited January 2012 in Road buying advice
Hi all, looking to replace my battered old Iron Horse hybrid for something new as I'm now commuting three or four days a week and can justify the outlay with my savings on petrol!

I'm very new to cycling and Boardmans seem to get favourable reviews and seem to have an extra £60 off at the minute plus 4% quidco, I can also get an extra 6% off as we can get discounted gift cards through a scheme at work which would bring the price down further.

My commute is mostly road / cycle path and is only 10 miles but there is a section of off road & canal path I could take which I'm not sure a road bike would be ideal for thus have been considering another hybrid or a cyclocross. Am I being parandoid and would a road bike be fine on this terrain?

I've looked on the website at Road, Hybrid and Cyclocross bikes as well as the different specs (Team, Comp & Pro) and I can't afford any more than around 700 so just wondering if any Boardman owners have an opinion on which would be most suitable for my requirements!

Anyway the £60 off and 4% quidco for Halfords Boardmans expires tomorrow I think so unless anyone has any other suggestions of great deals out there that would fit the bill I think I will be taking a trip to Halfords!
First love - Genesis Equilibrium 20
Dirty - Forme Calver CX Sport
Quickie - Scott CR1 SL HMX
Notable ex's - Kinesis Crosslight, Specialized Tricross

Comments

• The Boardman Team CX is probably for you... £ 850 at the moment, the advantage being that depending on which tyres you fit on, you can have a good road bike or a good off-road bike. It's got some decent disc brakes too, which take away the hassle of having to keep the rubber pads and rims clean.
    left the forum March 2023
  • Well the Boardman bikes are well regarded but at £599.99 I think you can get a better specced bike