Shiny Bikes. Any Good?? - Turns out they ain't.

rozzer32
rozzer32 Posts: 3,832
edited June 2012 in Road buying advice
Anyone used Shiny Bikes?? http://www.shinybikes.com/

They are the cheapest for what I want but I've never used them before.

What are they like??
***** Pro Tour Pundit Champion 2020, 2018, 2017 & 2011 *****

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Only used them once last year to buy my Shamals.
    Spoke on the phone and I was happy they knew what they were talking about.

Quick turnaround as well.
  • flasher
    flasher Posts: 1,734
    Yep very good, and someone answers the phone too!
  • I phoned them last year to check they had the wheels I wanted in stock.
    They said they had them and 2 days later I had them.
    Much better than shops like Primera who advertise stuff they can't deliver for 2 weeks but don't tell you at the time you order.
    If suffer we must, let's suffer on the heights. (Victor Hugo).
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Had a couple of issues with both things I bought from them.

I ordered a set of bars, they ended up going to someone else's address 100 miles from me. They said that I'd signed for them. Took a lot of faff to convince them (and retrieval of the signature, despite it was clearly not sent to myfreaking address!)
    About a three weeks later I got them.

Recently ordered a stem, realised I'd gone for wrong size so sent an email cancelling the order. No response.
    I needed another stem of a different length anyway so I rang them up, they said 'ooh we were just about to cancel it for you'.
    I said I needed a stem of a different length, same model so just send me one of that instead. He said he'd sort it there and then.
    Lo and behold they sent me the original wrong order, despite me conversing with the chap 2 minutes before he went off to pack it.
    Not had time to sort out returning it yet.

Shame because they seem really nice folks and prices are excellent.