Disc brake upgrade?

2»

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    @Rolf F - I'm not entirely serious in all my arguments but, as much as there's technology for technology's sake, the road bike world is incredibly conservative. I'm not expecting Di2 or discs to transform my ride, but I also don't understand why I would buy yesterday's technology when I'm buying a new bike.

As for disc brakes, it's not just cars but just about every braking system on the planet.

I don't accept the hype. I'm an extremely experienced engineer currently working on new products - I can make my own judgements. I've been running my Boardman CX for a while now and I'm bowled over by how good the brakes are - it's a common theme for Boardman CX riders.

I'm also interested as to why disc brakes are currently banned on the pro circuit if they offer no advantage.

The Boardman has also taught me how easy disc brakes are to maintain - I have absolutely no idea where the comments about complexity come from. I haven't even begun to experiment with pad compounds.

Your own test shows that, even with a light rider at modest speeds in the dry, the discs are nearly 20% more effective. The small weight differences pretty much cancel themselves out - there's more downforce but there's more weight to stop too.

Anyhow - I'm sure we won't agree. I also think we have different needs and experiences that lead us to our views. For me, for the conditions I commute in and the Highland terrain, discs are so much better than road rim brakes.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708