2012 Trek Fuel EX 7 or 2012 Giant Reign 2?!? HELP!!!

MrP627
MrP627 Posts: 10
edited January 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi Guys,

I'm looking to buy my first MTB and I've been researching for almost two weeks. Needless to say, I've had to soak up a lot of info and new lingo. Still, I am a big noob, so I thought asking advice from the people here would be best to help me make a more informed decision.

Anyway, due to availability and price, I've narrowed down my choices to the '12 Trek Fuel EX 7 or '12 Giant Reign 2. ( I've considered the '12 Trance X3 but really liked the suspension on the Reign 2 and seemed a better deal overall) I want to start off with mostly single trail tracks but then work my way up to more technical trails. I'd also like the ride to be as comfortable for my back as possible, so the plusher the ride, the better for me. Also, has anyone there ridden both bikes multiple times? I'm interested in long-term performance and how they both hold up on all day rides.

As for the weight issue, I was told the '12 Reign 2 weighed in at 29lbs without pedals so I figure it could go up to 30 or so lbs with pedals, would that really be too heavy for a beginner like me? Seems light enough since the Fuel EX is around 29lbs, or so I was also told. Would 2 lbs really drag me down considerably on long rides?

Basically I'm looking for the best all around bike that I see myself keeping for at least a couple of years. So what do you guys think? Thanks in advance by the way!

Comments

• bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    The Reign is more comparable to the Trek Remedy. The Trance is equivalent to the Fuel EX.

Spec is pretty similar. Can you get a test ride on both?
    MTB/CX

"As I said last time, it won't happen again."
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    Would add that you will be disappointed if you're buying a FS primarily for comfort. They are designed for traction, shock absorption, stability & efficiency, not sit-in comfort.
  • 1mancity2