Surrey Hills - XC or AM ??

JimboM
JimboM Posts: 380
edited January 2012 in MTB buying advice
A friend took me round some of the routes around the Peaslake / Surrey Hills yesterday and I loved it. Definitely got the bug so am looking to upgrade my hardtail GT Avalanche to something a bit more adventurous - problem is being a complete newbie I'm not sure what I really need.

I'll be spending 99% of my time riding the same area, not sure what this would be classified as but to me it was mainly narrow muddy tracks, with plenty of twists, turns, roots, lumps, bumps and the odd bomb hole :) Being (cough) 41 and 97kg I'm not going to be any speed freak and huge jumps/ massive drop offs are definitely out of the question but I'm not completely dead yet and still wany to have some fun. If anyone knows the area can they advise what sort of bike would suit me best and recommend something in the sub £1500 price range - preferably nearer the £1000 mark

Cheers

Jim
Cannondale Synapse 105
Giant FCR3
GT Avalanche 3.0
Canyon Nerve AM 6.0

Comments

• heavy_rat
    heavy_rat Posts: 264
    Giant Anthem is what I'd go for. Loads around at the moment at great prices.
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    You don't need an AM bike, a trail oriented XC bike will be fine, any of the decent spec hartails with 120mm forks will be fine.

I ride 120mm full sus and can't remember the last time someone caught up with me on BKB or Yoghurt pots. There are plenty of people who ride long travel bikes, I ride with guys on 100mm hard tails and they are not much slower. At 97kg you want something sturdy though.

PS I am only a year younger than you. Surrey is a great place to live for MTBing
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Gnarrly XC we call it. 120mm is a good compromise. A Boardman would be a ideal.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599