Loss of confidence - tips needed

DXG82
DXG82 Posts: 35
edited February 2012 in Women
Hi Ladies

I am relatively new to mountain biking, but until recently I felt that my riding was progressing quite well. OK so I was hardly an expert, and still got scared of stuff like big drops, but I was getting round red trails such as Whites Levels and The Wall at Afan without too many issues and feeling quite proud of myself, as while that might sound easy to some people I felt like it was a good acheivement for me.

However I went to Cannock Chase to do the Monkey Trail recently and found it really difficult. My friends couldn't understand why and said the Monkey Trail is easier than Afan. I think the problem was that there were a couple of sections on the Monkey Trail that looked scary so I walked them (the rock gardens on the red section of the Monkey for example) then I think I just totally wimped myself out and ended up walking other sections of the trail, even though I know I have ridden much harder stuff in the past!

I also think it did not help that Cannock was so busy the weekend I went and it really put me off that there were so many people there and I was constantly having to stop to let faster riders pass / having people coming right up behind me so I could not get into a rhythm and enjoy my ride. I do always let faster riders go ahead of me (when safe to do so) but there were just so many people at Cannock I was constantly stopping to let people pass every couple of minutes.

Also there were crowds of people stood around the technical features like the rock gardens which totally put me off even trying to give them a go.

I came away from Cannock feeling really annoyed with myself as I know I can ride better than that, but it was as though all my confidence was gone and I did not dare tackle anything.