Cycling Footwear

Delmack
Delmack Posts: 3
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Hoping for some help folks.

I'm a newbie to cycling and I'm struggling on working out exactly what I should be looking for when buying suitable footwear.

I have a hybrid bike which I use on the roads and cycle tracks around my home covering anything from 6-20 miles.

I don't have pedals with a 'clip system'. Should I change them or can you get cycling shoes that don't use this type of pedal.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Comments

• MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    A lot of people will say that clipless pedals are much more efficient and safer and you should get them BUT ask first, did the person advising you start out as a newbie on clipless pedals or did they switch over as an experienced and competent rider?
    In my opinion, a newbie rider has too much to think about to be clipped to the pedals. You have to think about releasing the pedals and your brain gets overloaded. Even experienced riders switching to clipless have some "clipless moments" ie falling off.
    Stick with platform pedals for now and ride with any footwear you like. A stiffer sole will make you more efficient so a trail shoe is better than a floppy trainer but you can ride in anything.
    If you want help positioning your feet on the pedal you can get a mini toeclip without a strap.

I have used toe clips with straps for years but I was an experienced rider when I started with them. Toe clips should be used with the straps loose for saftey. Removing your feet from toe clips means learning to move your feet back rather than up or sideways. In a panic or slide, I find that I can still move my feet back and have never been trapped in the clips.