New forks - advice please

pulck
pulck Posts: 24
edited February 2012 in The workshop
I commute in London on a cheap, old hybrid (GT Nomad) I bought 6 or 7 years ago for about £300.

I know there's not much I can do to improve this bike, but for ages I've wanted to try replacing the rather shabby (and probably heavy) suspension forks with rigid ones. I've never done this before, so what exactly should I be looking for to make sure I buy forks that fit?

This is what I have currently: Suntour NRX-6000 (http://www.srsuntour-cycling.com/index.php?screen=sh.detail&tnid=525&sid=1)

And if anyone has suggestions, that would be great. I'm looking for something cheap and cheerful - around £50? - as the frame is old and heavy and wouldn't warrant anything expensive.

Comments

• Get forks that fit your wheel, 26" or 700c with Canti-Bosses, and your frame 1" or 1.125", and your headset threaded or unthreaded.
    If it's ahead (unthreaded) you'll need a new star-nut.
    Measure your old steerer and cut new forks to same length.
    Remove the crown race from the old pair and transfer to new pair.

Even a old pair of steel, rigid forks will be lighter than the old sus ones and not bob up and down when you don't want them to.
    FCN16 - 1970 BSA Wayfarer

FCN4 - Fixie Inc
  • pulck
    Thanks for your reply. Sorry, but I have a few follow-up questions.

How can I tell if my frame is 1" or 1.125"? Where do I take this measurement?

Cutting forks sounds a bit daunting and I probably don't have the tools for the job. Presumably I can just buy them the right length? Do I need to make any adjustments to my measurements because I currently have suspension forks?

If forks are advertised as having canti-bosses, does that mean that I will be able to fit my existing V brakes?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Measure the diameter of the fork steerer. Does it have threads? What size wheel?
  • pulck
    Thanks for response. Wheel size is 700C.