New helmet

indyp
indyp Posts: 735
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
hi,

I am new to road cycling, having just started at the ripe young age of 46! I bought a second hand Allez and so far I'm loving it. Thanks to looking through the forums I bought most of my kit from DHB and find them good for beginners, apart from their zips opening all the time on bib longs!

Anyway, I have at the moment a bog standard Met helmet - looks like a mushroom on my head! Vanity has lead me to looking at getting a more sleek design, plus I want white for the summer. I have limited funds so looking at just over £50 bracket helmets. At the moment it's a toss-up between the Giro Monza and the Met Inferno UL. I will be going to have a look in the week and try some on but thought I could hopefully get some advice on the better of the two.
Also, which of them doesn't look like a mushroom!

:)

Comments

• warrerj
    warrerj Posts: 665
    What size head have you got? there are quite few good sales on atm but seem to be on smaller sizes
  • indyp
    unfortunatey I've got a large head, 60cm. Probably the most popular!
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Helmets are a bit hard to recommend because the fit is very variable depending on what fits your noggin. I have just bought a Giro Savant, which is a new model (priced about £40-55) and seems to do the business for me. The straps can be a bit inflexible though and, in an ideal world, I would prefer a material that is softer. The straps did take me about 30 minutes of fiddling to get right and I think I might have to do it again. Apart from that, very comfortable and light.