everytime i ride i get a puncture

tindal86
tindal86 Posts: 6
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Hi Guys

I am fairly new to road cycling and have just bought my first road bike but everytime i am out i have too call the wife 8 miles from home requiring to be picked up. Initially i put it down to my tyre pressure being 85 90 psi, after reading forums i increased them to 100 105 psi but thats still hasn't helped. I was in my local cycle shop this morning (getting another new tube) and the shop assistant commented on the fact my tyres appeared rather thin for my rims.
Can anybody recommended or advice how they may have delt with similar problems.
I have Kenda 700 x 23 tyres on the front and rear.
I cant wait to complete a ride so therefor look forward too your responses

Thanks

Alan

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    What kind of punctures are you getting? Pinch flats, foreign object damage, hole on the inside of the inner tube?
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    From experience, Kenda tyres are pretty ................ crap :D My Moda came with some Kenda Kaliente tyres and they were the worst tyres i've every used.

What wheels do you have (ie what is the rim width)??
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    A mate kept getting punctures on his new bike, in the end it came down to the crap rim tape with a small burr of alloy poking through from the rim.
  • godders1
    godders1 Posts: 750
    Yeah I've had a burr on one of the spoke holes cause constant punctures.

Also worth giving the tyre a thorough check for any tiny embedded object(s).
  • I am pretty certain it is pinchs that are causing the puncture, but it will do no harm checking the rim tape.

I am not sure the size of the rim. How would i find this?

Thanks
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Kenda = crap tyres = punctures.

Buy something more suited to the job - Conti 4 Seasons, Michelin Krylions perhaps.
  • gmacz