Kinky tyres

jehannum5
jehannum5 Posts: 54
edited January 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
This post may make me seem a bit of an idiot, but... I had a puncture on my 29er tyre a week ago, fixed it got home and thought hey my wheel is buckled. Had the wheel trued, replaced the tyre and thought hey my wheel is buckled.. Turned out the tyre is buckled...isn't circular any more. No worries I bought two new tyres replaced them this morning and both tyres are not round.... I fact they snake around the rim like, well, snakes. makes for an interesting riding experience. On closer examination the tyres aren't seated properly, is this a rim problem or a fitting problem? I have been riding for 18 years and only encountered this once on my road bike, and never on my 26er. Now I have a 29er (giant xtc with giant rims) and this is suddenly a big issue.. Any tips on getting these $&@()/ tyres on my rims straight? I've tried forcing the valve stem down by tightening the valve nut when inflating the tyre to no avail.... I really don't want to have to take it to the bike shop to say...'ahem I can't change a tube'...

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Inflate them really hard and the bead should pop into place. Then deflate as required.
    As a matter of interest who ripped you off by truing the wheels when they didn't need it. I'd find a new LBS.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools