Headset/Fork problem??

lordlee
lordlee Posts: 7
edited January 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi All,
Newbie here so please be gentle. My partners Marin Hawk Hill (2001) has a slight wobble from the front end end that is noticeable under braking and also when the front is lifted when stationary and you move the wheel back and forth.
Being new to servicing bikes myself maybe I should just take it to a shop but I like to learn how to do things properly myself so I thought I would reach out for some help.
I have read many threads on here around tighteneing the headset and checking the stem sits 3-5mm higher that the piece of metal it clamps to etc. When I take the top cap off there is nothing there to tighten except fsa-carbon-top-cap-1-18_7e9d0938ba882738ab3982682f89578d.jpg that star type thing. Do I have to tighten this up? Could it be some bushings on the fork? Basically what is the best order of troublkeshooting?

TIA

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    no need to take the cap off as that is what tightens it.

slacken the stem bolts first then tighten the top cap then tighten the stem bolts again.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • BG2000
    BG2000 Posts: 517
    It does just sound like your headset is loose, which should be easy to resolve.

The normal process of tightening is:

1) Completely loosen the stem clamp bolts (the ones that tighten the stem onto the fork steering column)
    2) Tighten the bolt in the top cap. Not too much. One method is to gently tighten the bolt while rocking the bike back and forth with the front brake on. As you tighten the bolt, you'll start to feel the 'knocking' of the loose headset go away. Just at the point you can't notice the knocking any more, tighten the stem bolts back up.