Help I have agreed to to L2P and never ridden a rode bike

luckypierre
luckypierre Posts: 76
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All,

Looking for some serious advice, i have been asked to take part in the London to Paris this year despite never ridden a road bike. My background is off road and so have a reasonable knowledge on this time of riding (although not encyclopedic) but for thsi i am a total newbie.

i have often thought about getting a road bike to go on when the trails are too wet but never really looked at it as always had other avenue to dump my money into.

Anyway I now have an excuse so I suppose my situation is this.

For a budget of £500-600 what should I be looking for in terms of a road bike. i.e components, carbon fork, etc... what brands represent value. I know ultimately its about how you and the bike get on together but some pointers. I am not asking for a "What bike should I buy" just more of a what should I look for in a good bike.

Is my budget viable for a ride I have signed up for?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• I've also signed up for L2P (3 day route), I'm doing it for Action Medical.

My advice would be check out the classifieds for a second hand bike.

Maybe see you in Paris :-)
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Fit is more important.

For £500 you'd get a bike suitable for the purpose. I'd much rather ride it on a cheap bike that fits me rather than a £2000 bike that doesn't. Check out the Boardman road bikes - fantastic reviews and as you know your way around bikes then buying from Halfords shouldnt put you off ?
  • MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    That's ballsy !!! :lol::D

My sister did it a couple of years ago on a Boadrman Hybrid, no problems. She wasn't a complete novice, but just put in plenty of miles for the few months before she went. She was doing 30mile rides a couple of times a week.

Good luck !!
    Science adjusts it’s beliefs based on what’s observed.