Advise needed

thetool
thetool Posts: 28
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Bought myself a JAMIS entry level bike and been cycling for a little under 6 months and love it.obviously I'm still a newbie and have a lot to learn but have run in to a few problems.I ride with a large group on Saturdays over 55 miles at a 20mph average and have been told that I need to go ride with the A's.This I am very reluctant to do as I am still learning the etiquette and don't want to piss people off.

Comments

• on the road
    on the road Posts: 5,631
    Are the A's quicker or slower? Why are you worried about wee-weeing people off?

Really need more information.
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    Assuming the "A" group is the faster group then i'd suggest that typically they will contain some of the more experienced / commited cyclists. You'll probably learn more - so as long as they understand you are a relative newbie and are willing to guide you as such, then go for it.

Most experienced sportsmen (and women) are happy to help the less experienced (i'm an ex international badminton player) so long as they are keen and willing to listen and learn. Cyclists are predominantly amongst the more social of sports people so i think you should go for it. Your cycling will only improve even quicker if you mix in the experienced group.
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    55 miles at 20mph average - pretty fast for a beginner on an entry level bike. You must be very fit even keeping up with a group at that pace.
  • thetool
    Are the A's quicker or slower? Why are you worried about wee-weeing people off?

Really need more information.

The A group is a lot quicker,
  • noodleman
    noodleman Posts: 852