Saddle position

al_kidder
al_kidder Posts: 73
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Truth is, I'm not a beginner, but I'd be interested in what other reasonably competent cyclists think.

I bought a new bike 6 months ago, just to see if a carbon frame would get me up hills a little faster than on the old Al frame that I had bought 2nd hand after the previous bike decided to sacrifice its gear hanger. The guy I bought it from was a lot taller than me, but the frame was claimed to be 56, which is about right for me, at 178cm. When I got the new bike, ie the carbon one, same frame size, it felt too short, so that sitting on the bar tops was not quite right for me. When I measured, I found that the stem on the old bike was 140mm, vs 120 mm on the new one. The shop didn't want to swap the stem for a longer one, so I decided to just move the saddle backwards and now I'm accustomed to riding on the hoods.

Anyway, after thinking about how to ride a bit faster, I decided that since TT bikes have a more upright seat post, I might get an improvement by bringing the seat forward a bit. Well, blow me away, but I seem to have achieved about 3 or 4% improvement just through that New Year change. I already had 5% going uphill, which I had put down to weight reduction plus lower friction on the new bike, and about 3% on the flat, which I attributed to the lower drag riding position from having my hands on the hoods instead of on the bars.

So now I've meassured my saddle height and compared it with my inside leg to see how close I am to the 109% which is suggested as a good fit. I'm not even close. I come in at a little under 80 on the inside leg, but 91 on the saddle, which I had already lowered a bit from what it used to be, and is about 113% by my reckoning. That has been quite comfortable for the last 6 months and 13000km.

What about the rest of you

Comments

• I come up short on saddle height from what is normally reccomended but I reckon that's cause I don't ankle.