Disc brake setup (drop bars)

godders1
godders1 Posts: 750
edited December 2011 in The workshop
My Pompetamine versa came this week. Lovely bike but I've never worked with disc brakes before and am really struggling with the setup (Avid BB7).

I've followed the instructions to the letter and have looked at a couple of youtube vids etc but the braking just seems really weak (to the extent that I don't want to go out for a ride) and the levers travel pretty much all the way to the bars. If I try and dial the pads in to tighten things up I get rubbing on the rotors.

Any ideas?

Comments

• bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    You'll have to live with a bit of rubbing at first, if they're anything like mine (BB5s with Apex. I switched to 105 levers and this helped).

Also, make sure the caliper is dead straight. It can help to wind a lot of tension onto both pads (cable and 'static'), enough to grip the disc between the pads. Then tighten the caliper bolts, then back off the tension, and hey presto, perfectly alinged calipers.....unless your discs aren't straight. In which case, a bit of gentle tweaking can get them straight.
    MTB/CX

"As I said last time, it won't happen again."
  • godders1
    Cheers, yeah the setup instructions I've been using involve loosening the calliper, dialling the pads right in so they clamp the rotor, tightening the calliper and then backing off the pads until the rubbing stops (with the rotor off centre and a bit nearer to the active pad). So the calliper should be perfectly aligned. The rotors look straight.

Have just set up again (for about the tenth time today) using a few tips from an old BR thread I found and been out for 5 minutes and they are better but still not great. I'm taking it to Bike Science tomorrow for a fitting so they should be OK to get me over there (mostly off road) and I'll ask them to take a look.
  • bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998
    The pads also need to bed in a bit too, then the bite will improve.