Squeaky disc brakes

tgotb
tgotb Posts: 4,714
edited December 2011 in Commuting chat
So the new crosser has disc brakes (Avid BB7), and they've started howling like banshees. I'm new to the whole disk brake thing; is there anything I can do to make them quieter?

At some point I assume I'll have to replace the pads. Is there an easy way to determine how worn they are without taking them out and examining them? On a commute where my caliper brakes needed new pads ~every 6 weeks in the Winter, how long can I expect the pads in my disk brakes to last?

Obviously if I don't solve the noise issue they'll last for ever, because I'll be too embarassed to use them...
Pannier, 120rpm.

Comments

• EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    WD40 or GT45 on the discs!

PLEASE DON'T DO THIS. It is a joke.
    FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
    FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
    FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!
  • gtvlusso
    gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
    apply some coppaslip (copper grease) to the backs of the pads (the bits that touch the piston, not the disk!
  • Aidy
    Aidy Posts: 2,015
    TGOTB wrote:
    So the new crosser has disc brakes (Avid BB7), and they've started howling like banshees. I'm new to the whole disk brake thing; is there anything I can do to make them quieter?

At some point I assume I'll have to replace the pads. Is there an easy way to determine how worn they are without taking them out and examining them? On a commute where my caliper brakes needed new pads ~every 6 weeks in the Winter, how long can I expect the pads in my disk brakes to last?

Obviously if I don't solve the noise issue they'll last for ever, because I'll be too embarassed to use them...

Make sure there's no crap on the disc/pads. Make sure the callipers are set up properly (pads should be parallel to the disc, and the disc shouldn't flex under braking).