OT: Marathon Training

essex-commuter
essex-commuter Posts: 2,188
edited December 2011 in Commuting chat
Just wondered if any runners had thoughts on this...

A member of my running club is currently regularly running 15 miles at a decent pace at the weekends. She is doing the London marathon in April and wants to go under 4 hours. She says she has downloaded a plan to follow...which starts in the middle of December with 3 mile runs.

My opinion is that if she is already doing 15's why would she suddenly go back to running 3's. Obviously if the plan calls for speedwork or hill reps etc then that is fine, but would you go back to square one and start with 3 mile regular runs for a few weeks when you can comfortably run 15's?

I know what I would do but I've been doing this marathon lark for many years and maybe I stick with what I know.

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    I wouldn't.

I'd be doing one reasonable pace 15km a week, one 10km with either hills or sprint intervals and a weekend run that slowly extends to from her current distance to 35km and then tapers before the event.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • clarkey cat
    clarkey cat Posts: 3,641
    I used this when I did it and found it really useful.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Experts-Guide-M ... 1842229400
  • dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    Have only done a few 1/2 marathons but I'd certainly not consider going back to 3 mile runs if I started training for a full marathon.
    If it were me I'd likely look at the plan and guestimate whereabouts I was, then join it at that point, maybe taking a bit longer on each step so that it still finishes around the same point.
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    Sounds like she's downloaded a beginner's training plan whereas she should really be starting at intermediate level.
  • dhope wrote: