Do you pay to have your bike serviced?

2»

Comments

• zippy483
    zippy483 Posts: 104
    the beauty of the deal I outlined is that I can take it in for a service whenever they like but they do insist on a minimum of 6 monthly or 1500 miles I aint arguing with that :)
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    As an ex mechanic I do all my own work, but I still need the LBS from time to time as I cannot afford bottom bracket facers and chasers, seat reamers, disc mount facers and so on.
  • I fail to see how it falls down, do you service your car yourself more than once a year or do you get it done annualy by a professional like 99.9% of the population and only take it inbetween services if you notice something needs doing?

Hats off to you for servicing your bike yourself but there is definitely an undertone of snobbery (not just from you) towards those of us who are not confident in doing the job ourselves!
    First love - Genesis Equilibrium 20
    Dirty - Forme Calver CX Sport
    Quickie - Scott CR1 SL HMX
    Notable ex's - Kinesis Crosslight, Specialized Tricross
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    PorlyWorly wrote:
    I fail to see how it falls down, do you service your car yourself more than once a year or do you get it done annualy by a professional like 99.9% of the population and only take it inbetween services if you notice something needs doing?

Maybe it depends what you mean by 'servicing'- my bikes would be in a right state if I didn't do anything to them for a year. I don't think the same is generally true for cars is it?
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    PorlyWorly wrote:
    I fail to see how it falls down, do you service your car yourself more than once a year or do you get it done annualy by a professional like 99.9% of the population and only take it inbetween services if you notice something needs doing?