Gear clunking noise.

jon prothero
jon prothero Posts: 469
edited December 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Just came back from my LBS for the third time and still my problem has not been solved. When i am going up a hill on my smallest ring ...... a noise like i am being pulled up to the top of a fairground ride appears. It is fine on the middle and big ring. Also all the gears change perfectly. I am a novice when it comes to maintenance, so the whole bike came back like this and with a (brake not working i shall post about that later) after i paid a lot of money for a full service. One of the things that was done was the back cassette was changed and the chain......might this be effecting that small ring at the front my thoughts are that also might need replacing. As i say though I know very little. Your advice would be very helpful as i have come to the stage where i feel i might as well learn to do things myself!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Apart from what sounds like a rubbish LBS, probably a worn chainring if you use it a lot.
    Learn to DIY.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Yes this is what i am hoping it is and yes i will be learning. thanks
  • delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848
    got to ask as you say you are a novice....

you say small ring uphill.. if you are using the small ring which cog on the cassette are you in.....

small ring and the top 4 gears(4 smallest cogs) on a 9 speed casstte are not supposed to be used due to the chainline........
  • Yes i am aware, i am a novice at repair i am ashamed to say...... although i have been riding a bike for years so do change correctly hense the chain line and gearing up hill are correct.

Thanks
  • Ouija
    Ouija Posts: 1,386