This forum

NickintheLakes
NickintheLakes Posts: 258
edited December 2011 in MTB beginners
Could I just say as a newbie here; what a great forum. Seems like a friendly place and it's packed with info'. Well done!

At the grand old age of 55 I am just returning to cycling following a 5 year stint back in the early 70's (Time Trials & Touring) and I remember the old wooden Herne Hill track very well (watching not participating) and then mid to late nineties MTB'ing on Marin/Alpinestars/Saracen (who made some really nice bikes back then). Sadly a climbing accident put paid to things for best part of a decade.

Looking to get back into things on a get fitter (I am quite fit for my age as I spend a lot of time in the mountains here in the Lake District) basis.

Not really wanting to do more than road/light trail work as I am a bit more aware of my mortality these days and my testosterone fueled suicidal tendancies were left behing about 30 years ago. :P

Things seem to have changed a lot in the last 10 years, in some ways there is more choice with bikes and in some ways less and the mag's seem to be full of downhill all the way articles/bikes - what happened to trail riding?

Nice to see that there are lots of guys and girls out there getting on with out-doorsy stuff.

Keep up the good work and thanks for making this an interesting place.

Comments

• Depends what mags you read, but DH is seen to be the most hardcore, and therefore the most fashionable. What's wrong with a good old woodland ride hey?

Most peeps on here do seem to be predominantly trail/XC riders.

Things have chnaged a lot in the last 10 years or so - more niches and better manufacturing down to the nth degree for intended use. But in most cases you'll not go wrong with a good quality XC bike that's a do most things well type of machine save for the extremes.

Happy riding.. Oldie ;-)
  • Happy riding.. Oldie

Oi!