newbie saying hi and a couple of quick questions

crispy1980
crispy1980 Posts: 310
edited December 2011 in MTB beginners
hi all, i have just bought a mountain bike after not riding since my early teens. its a gt aggresor. anyway, have a small issue with the gearing. ive looked at the guides but as im a total noob to it all i cant work out what needs adjusting. basically, the gears all seem to shift ok,but when im on the smallest front and rear cogs the chain catches on the front derralluer. as far as i can tell ( only ridden it once ) its only this gear that does it, which does make sense as its the position where the chain is at its most diagonal position. what do i need to adjust?

secondly, like a lunatic i was out riding today through some muddy woodland trails during the torrential downpour that we had here. i have been riding my other bike ( a cheapo appollo thing ) for the past month on canal paths/roads and thought i was getting a bit fitter but i have really struggled today in the mud. the tyres just dont seem to have any grip and i spent as much time off as i did on the bike as i was sliding about all over the place. now as i see it there are three possibilities :-

1. i am a very amateur mountain biker and i couldnt handle the conditions
2. the tyres are no good
3.i am expecting too much, after all i could hardly stand on some sections they were so slippy

Comments

• Hi mate, welcome.
    avoid using smallest to smallest and largest to largest gears, this causes as you rightly said the chain to rub on the front mech, what it also does is put extra pressure on the chain and potentially could snap.
  • oh right, didnt realise that. will avoid that in the future then. thanks for the speedy reply.
  • delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848
    rule out the last 3 cogs at the rear if in small chainring
    middle ring should be good for all cogs
    rule out the first 3 (1-3) if in big chian rig..