Business Idea?

Kerrmit1992
Kerrmit1992 Posts: 275
edited November 2011 in MTB general
Hi guys,

I know this probably isn't a question use get asked every day. I am a business student and an avid mountain biker.

I am looking into the Idea of opening a small bike store that mainly specializes in mountain bikes (either one manufacturer or various) however i would also like to maybe do mountain bike tours within the UK and abroad, i dont know how popular this would be and im unsure of how well bike shops tend to do these days, i was hoping they are maybe doing quite well with people swapping cars for bikes with the increasing fuel costs etc.

What are your thoughts? :)

Thanks
Craig
Mountain biking is the bicycle version or rallying, except you don't need a Co-Driver!

Comments

• 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    Specializing in one type of bike is limiting your market, you want to appeal to every type of biker out there.

Think long and hard on setting up your own business, its hard really hard, and when its not going well its utterly deverstating.

I had my own business for 7yrs and when your a small business you can't take holidays, you get home worrying about stock, cash flow, wages.

And the hardest bit is employees, some are great but some can be a nightmare.

Put you off?

No?

Go for it,

If you don't try you will never know :wink:

have you done any market research yet?
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I think this is the market research.

I'm not sure riding tours here would work. Given the choice I'd rather go to the Alps, Canada, California or some 'adventure' area - S Amercia/Asia, than sunny Wales.
    Can't see many tourists coming here for the riding.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    cooldad wrote: