spoke and nipple length advice

orienteerstu55
orienteerstu55 Posts: 102
edited November 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hey guys

I'm putting together my 1st wheel, hope pro 2 - 135mm and mavic xm 719 rim 32 spokes. i have used a calculator and it suggests 270.4 and 269.6 mm left and right respectiveley. my question lies here

what size spokes do i buy based on these results ? 268mm ? what size nipples? and how do you get around the 1mm difference between left and right as sizes are all even??

any recommendations on what spokes/nipples to select ?

thanks for reading all help would be amazing I'm very new to this but keen to learn

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Spokes do come in 1mm variations.

Spokes calls do tend to give the length with referance to the inputted nipple length. Which depends on the calc used.
    The calc used also depends on how you would use the lengths given. Some you round up some you don't. Some you may use differing spoke lengths as you can. Which allows for a single spoke length to be used.

So I would go with 269 and whatever length of nipple in the program gives.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • baznav73
    baznav73 Posts: 111
    270mm with 12mm nipples is what i would use.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Unless you're building a 4X pattern wheel, you're about 10mm out on the spoke lengths by my reckoning, they should be closer to 260mm (with 12mm nipples) on a 3 cross.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • nicklouse
    benpinnick wrote:
    Unless you're building a 4X pattern wheel, you're about 10mm out on the spoke lengths by my reckoning, they should be closer to 260mm (with 12mm nipples) on a 3 cross.
    The wonders of only half of the info. ;)
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."