Which Trail center?

Jamieg285
Jamieg285 Posts: 98
edited November 2011 in MTB beginners
I'm relatively new to off-roading and don't yet know what my ability level is.

I'm pretty much central to 3 Trail centers and was wondering which would be the best one to go to first, to get started and not go too deep too quickly.

Which order would you recommend visiting :

Chicksands
Woburn
Aston Hill

I'm not into Downhill (yet :twisted: ), more XC at the moment.

Any advise on getting started gratefully received.

Cheers,

Jamie

Comments

• Just ride anywhere off road. Trail Centers aren't everything. The only thing you'll struggle with at trail centers are the jumps ect (which will be clearly marked at the good ones). There's always away around if you're not confident enough or you feel your bike'll break.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Only know Aston, but apart from a rather boring XC loop, and a quite fun red bit, the rest is quite steep and deadly when wet.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • flappy8
    flappy8 Posts: 172
    I'd go to Aspley Woods @ Woburn. There's nice singletrack, there some good hills (up and down) and its a nice place.
    Cooldad's correct about Aston - great if you are a downhiller with full body armour......
    If you are in that area though, check out some of the routes on the Bucks MTB website www.bucksmtb.co.uk
    MTB or Road - They are both good!
  • Hi, Try looking at Hicks Lodge for some easy Green and Blue trails to get you in to it. Link here:
    http://www.purplemountain.co.uk/hicks-lodge/

Bob
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Hi, Try looking at Hicks Lodge for some easy Green and Blue trails to get you in to it. Link here:
    http://www.purplemountain.co.uk/hicks-lodge/

Bob
    Not exactly local to Luton though. Might as well go to S Wales.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda