Exmoor Beauty 2012

gazwagon
gazwagon Posts: 12
Anyone riding the Exmoor Beauty in April 2012. It's run by the people who organise the Exmoor Beast, do they put on a good event ?

What do you think of the route ?

Comments

• vs
    vs Posts: 468
    Just 27 quid for 65 miles - less than 50p a mile - should sell out then.
  • gazwagon
    gazwagon Posts: 12
    edited November 2011
    Is your comment meant to be constructive or sarcastic ? I'm a relative beginner on the road scene and have only taken part in one other sportive which was mainly on the Somerset levels, I was just posting to gather opinion on an event.
  • rjh299
    rjh299 Posts: 721
    I'm gonna say... sarcastic.
    Never ridden the Beast but have done Tour of Exmoor, lots of climbing obviously but with the benefit of good descents.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I think the latter :)

If you are looking for a nice ride early in the year down that way then I recommend the Exmoor Spring audax that Pam runs from Minehead in April. Always a big turn out, lovely route (although the road surface from Dulverton back is dreadful) and a mountain of jam and cream scones at the end...all for about £4.
  • Cheers, thanks for the sensible replies :) Don't think the audax date has been posted yet but will keep checking the Minehead CC site.
  • Just 27 quid for 65 miles - less than 50p a mile - should sell out then.

VS : Fair comment but you clearly have no idea how much a sportive costs to organise correctly. The audax rides are completely different to the Sportive rides, its not cost per mile its, safety, feed stations, recovery and professional organisation. £25,000 worth!!!!

Come an try it !

But any ride on Exmoor is a good one
  • I think VS doesn't do sportives :)
  • vorsprung
    vorsprung Posts: 1,953
    vs wrote:

It doesn't work like that. My Avalon Sunrise 400km audax is £12 or about 5p a mile