Day to Day Recovery

charliew87
charliew87 Posts: 371
edited November 2011 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm fairly new to all this...

Went out for 25 miles on Saturday, and used Strava for the first time. Logged on when I got home, saw how woefully I had performed on some segments and planned to go smash my times on Sunday. I was planning on going out for 40 miles or so on Sunday, but within a mile of starting my legs were already dead and clearly hadn't recovered from Saturday. Managaed another 25 miler but had no energy in my legs at all.

What is recommended in terms of basic recovery techniques to help with this? Stretching etc? Or am I just really unfit?!
Canyon AL Ultimate 9.0

Comments

• Zoomer37
    Zoomer37 Posts: 725
    This has always worked for me:

Stretch before the ride (some dont bother, I do)
    Warm up the legs further on the bike for the first 10 mins
    Take it easy for the last couple of miles
    Protein shake
    Warm shower
    Relax
    Sometime go for walk later in the day to ease the legs

Keep in mind though mate (especially if your new to this) your giving your legs a solid work out if your pushing it some, so they will need time to recover.
  • Agree with everything said ...! Don't under estimate the power of the protein shake, this has helped me out no end! (Although I suspect a high protein meal would have the same effect, but I think that debate has been done to death!! :-) )
  • Wrath Rob
    Wrath Rob Posts: 2,918
    Unfortunately its the fitness thing. My routine is something like this:

Eat something light but sustaining like Wheatabix, porridge etc.
    Ride a gentle warm up (5-10 mins)
    Then stretch. Otherwise you're stretching cold muscles, particularly in the winter
    Ride
    Post-ride nutrition, ideally within 20 mins of finishing the ride
    If you're a pro athlete, take an ice bath to reduce any swelling either in the joints or the muscles. The rest of us have a nice, warm shower instead.
    Rest