Windstopper Jacket, Newbie Advice

TrickyGB
TrickyGB Posts: 81
edited November 2011 in Road beginners
Hello,

I'm after a bit of advice about a windstopper jacket, I'm new to more serious cycling and of late have been getting cold so I'm after a windstopper jacket. After trying a number of products on I find the Gore Bike Wear stuff to fit me quite well and after reading a couple of review they seem to do the job.

Can anyone recommend me one of the following, or give me any reason to steer clear of a particular item, they all appear to do what I want I was just wondering if one would be better than another:

Gore Phantom Windstopper

Gore Countdown Windstopper

Gore Contest Windstopper

Gore Power Windstopper

Other recommendations are also welcome, I have a budget of around £90-£100 and from various websites all the above are achieveable at this price

Thanks in advance

Comments

• nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511
    I've had a Gore Phantom for 3 years now and it's a great jacket, I used to think the zip-off arms were a bit gimmicky but have used them a few times recently (even if you don't actually remove the arms the zips under the pits can be handy to open up). One of the rear pockets on mine has just given up so will probably be replacing it like-for-like shortly. I also have an Altura nightvision (windproof softshell one) and a Pearl Izumi windproof softshell both pretty good but not quite as good as the Gore (although they were a fair bit cheaper). The Endura convert looks pretty good to but I know where I stand with the Phantom.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    If you can find yourself a deal on a Gore Tool it's unlikely you'll be looking for a winter jacket for a few years - it is quite warm and so the pit-zips are welcome. I had a Phantom for a while but it wasn't anything like as good.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • dd1
    dd1 Posts: 73