Parents and owners of Trailer Bikes/ Trail Gator...

jorge1690
jorge1690 Posts: 6
edited November 2011 in Family & kids cycling forum
Hi everyone,

I'm a student at Loughborough University in my final year of a product design degree; as part of this I must redesign an existing product or invent something completely new. I have decided to focus on Trailer Bikes and, in particular, improving the tow bar concept used by the Trail-Gator.

I like the fact that the Trail-Gator adds flexibility and allows the child to have freedom, as well giving them the option to be hooked on when tired. Has anyone had any particularly bad experiences with this product?

I've heard and read that they can be really awkward to fit; is there a particular aspect of the design that is most troublesome?

I have managed to get my hands on a second hand Trail-Gator and, having looked closely at it, feel that it actually appears quite cheap - anyone agree? Has anyone had any concerns over the quality of it when in use?

If you have any further input unrelated to the questions above then I would be hugely grateful! Looking for ways of improving what is already on the market...

If people have some answers to any of the following questions that would be great!

· Have you had previousexperience with the Trail-Gator product?

· If yes, how do you feel it compares with the more traditional Trailer Bikes?

· If no, do you know of anyone who has and what experiences they have had with it?

· What do you see as the advantages and disadvantages of the Trailer Bikes and Trail-Gator designs?

· A possible concern with these products is that the child is behind the parent and out of view; I am considering a design where the child is alongside - what are your thoughts on this?

· Have you got any further comments you would like to make about these products and ways of improving them?

Comments

• baudman
    baudman Posts: 757
    And no, I don't sell them. :lol: