Cateye Uno Front Light

whitestar1
whitestar1 Posts: 530
edited October 2011 in Commuting general
I evently got the Cateye Uno Front Opticube Light. I am not very pleased with it. cost me £30 and I was told it would allow me to see while the EL-135 will allow me to be seen. It isn't bright as I think it should be. But then I am new to this so I dont really have a benchmark to go by. What do you think?
Ride Safe! Keep Safe!
Specialized Roubaix Comp 2017
Cube Agree Pro 2014
Triban 7 2013
RockRider 8.0 2011
http://www.whitestar1.co.uk

Comments

• Craggers
    Craggers Posts: 185
    I've got one of those, had it for a couple of years now and it's still going strong... It mostly gets used by my girlfriend as I now use a exposure toro but i'm always impressed by how bright the uno is on her bike when when we're out I'm the dark together. I wouldn't really class it as a 'to see by' light but it'll see you home at a push. Small, light, durable and with a single AA, can't go wrong as a be seen commuter light... Very happy with it!
  • I guess it depends on your route. The Cateye will do a job and is bright for the price.
    I would use one on city streets, but wouldn't consider it on country roads or anywhere that isn't lit (you are going into Magicshine/Exposure/AyUp territory there - starting at £80).
    2007 Felt Q720 (the ratbike)
    2012 Cube Ltd SL (the hardtail XC 26er)
    2014 Lapierre Zesty TR 329 (the full-sus 29er)
  • cyberknight
    cyberknight Posts: 1,238
    I guess it depends on your route. The Cateye will do a job and is bright for the price.
    I would use one on city streets, but wouldn't consider it on country roads or anywhere that isn't lit (you are going into Magicshine/Exposure/AyUp territory there - starting at £80).

Or £33 for a magicshine these days .

bike radar review saying that they are not up to unlit routes..

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/ ... ght-39962/
    FCN 3/5/9
  • whitestar1 wrote: