Ignoring the brand

marksman
marksman Posts: 33
edited October 2011 in MTB beginners
Hey everyone,

I'm looking for a review on the carrera banshee 2011 but can't find a specifics review on this particular bike.

So, I'm asking you guys if anyone can give some advice on it while ignoring the brand name. The name isn't what I'm bothered about since I'm new to this 'MTB Lark' :-) and its a bike that has stuck out as the 2011 seems a reasonable price for what you get.

So no brand snobs or Halfords haters! ;-)

Cheers!

Comments

• leaflite
    leaflite Posts: 1,651
    edited October 2011
    What type of riding do you want it for?

It is a bit heavy for general XC stuff-you would probably be better off with a Carrera Fury or B-Twin Rockrider 8.1 for that usage.

However, for more extreme riding it looks to be decent for the money.
  • I like all sorts of riding really, xc and getting caked in mud is what i love to do.

I'll also be using the bike for work which is only 3 miles by road so being a full sus wont really hinder me.

But on an evening or weekend i do like to 'Get Lost' so to speak!

Ive had a test ride but only on flat ground and it feels a very nice ride so hopefully my gut is giving me a push in the right direction and a few positive responses on here will help me make a decision

Thanks leaflite
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    For the riding you will be doing its not the bike I would choose.
  • Monk@
    Monk@ Posts: 10
    as above, not the type of bike i would buy, a hard tail would be better.

try the fury or kraken, just brought a kraken myself and love it
  • Richtea70
    Richtea70 Posts: 107
    Yeah, you wont want a Banshee for a commute, even if it is only 3 miles!

Both the Fury and the Kracken will be much better suited for any time on the road.
    GT Idrive
    Trek 6300
    GT Chucker
  • waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571