double to triple - quert

knack-knees
knack-knees Posts: 56
edited October 2011 in Workshop
HI there, new to the forum as I'm new to road biking so hope this isn't going to get shot down :D

I've bought a 2nd hand trek 2006 bike 3 months ago (doesn't say which model) which has a double chainset and 105 groupset. Bike is fantastic and goes like the wind!

I live in Herefordshire, near the brecon's and the hills are tough which I usually run. The problem is that I haven't got enough gears to go up the steep hills.

I bought an ultegra hollowtech II triple chainset off ebay (£56), thinking I'd just bolt it on but have since learnt that I've been naive in not checking compatabillity. So my query is:

Can my STI shifter take to a triple (they have 3 clicks at present), if yes how do I adjust ( :oops: )
Do I need a new chain
Do I need a compatible triple FD/RD
Am I being dumb!

I did pull back the STI rubber boot but didn't see any reference numbers to post, but my rear cassette is 10 speed.

I honestly have looked around at this topic and there's so many variables hence the post.

Any assistance truly appreciated.

Comments

• Need to know the shifter model, the number is cast into the plastic under the rubber hood, you`ll need to peel it right back, it`s on the inside face usually.

Chain will be fine, front mech needs to be swapped to a triple though (plenty about S/H) any Shimano triple mech will do it, Tiagra is reliable and cheep :)

Did you get the HT II bottom bracket (bearings in the frame) with the chainset? Will most likely be different to what your bike has fitted, being 2006.

What cassette have you got fitted? 12 - 27 is best option for hilly country, and if your shifter ISN`T triple-compatible then easiest option is a compact double chainset (50 - 34) instead, and 12-27 cassette and that should get you up most hills, that`s what I use, steepest hills round here I`ve seen on the road is 15%, which is pretty steep :shock:
    Jens says "Shut up legs !! "